scraps of poetry and madness

archbook

What began as an impulsive project on a Friday afternoon turned into a 4 – 5 day extravaganza.

The arch-book is actually a Dell Chromebook 11 from a few years ago. It is old enough that the newer ChromeOS updates didn't run great on it, but it is otherwise a good machine with a nice, simple, utilitarian form factor. I really like it, and always lamented never using it to its fullest potential. A few years ago, I messed around with putting GalliumOS on it. That was fine but a) I never worked on it long enough to get all of the kinks out, and 2) I never really decided how I would use it once it was set up. I never integrated it into my daily practice and habits. And that was fine, I suppose; it was a hobby project. But I still felt like I was wasting a cool piece of tech.

Then last week with no warning, I decided to dust off this machine to see if I can make it a usable part of my day-to-day practice.

Read more...